Storybook Alphabet Bookmarks

My goal this year has been to use up some of the “randomly acquired items” in my craft room.  I am very good at organizing my paper scraps and making sure all my embellishments are stored by color, shape, and size, but what I am NOT good at doing  is using them. This week’s project allowed me to use some of those “randomly acquired items” to create some effortless bookmarks with scripture and stamped phrases using the Storybook Alphabet acrylic stamp set.

During the month of July, I will be creating weekly projects using our July Stamp of the Month, Storybook Alphabet. Make sure to stop by each week for more ideas using this set.  As always, I’ve included a list of the products used to create this project at the very bottom of this post.

StorybookBookmarks.jpg

Paper Needed: 12″ x 12″ Cardstock (I used Kraft),  (5) 4″ x 1¾” B&T Paper (I used Prickly Pear)

Assembly Instructions:
To place the Bible verses onto each bookmark, I used the writing feature in Cricut® Design Space.  If you have never used the writing feature, you can view a tutorial HERE.

1. Cut five 6″ x 1¾” bookmarks from the Kraft cardstock. (NOTE: If you are using your Cricut®, create five 6″ x 1¾” rectangles then attach the text to each shape.)
2.  Using Black Ink, stamp the phrases onto each bookmark.

QUICK TIP: Our Acrylic Block have a groove line across the bottom of each block  to help you align your letter stamps.  The Storybook Alphabet set has a few letters, like the “R”, that would go off the edge of the block.  To solve this dilemma, I took a piece of Washi tape and placed it onto my block to create a line for my letters to sit upon. 

StorybookBookmark_Block.jpg

3. Fold each of the 4″ x 1¾” B&T paper strips at 2″ (in half). Using a strong adhesive, attach the folded paper strips to the end to each bookmark, overlapped by about ½”.  I took advantage of our two-sided paper and folded up ends on one of the bookmarks to show off both patterns.
4. Using a hole punch, create a ¼” at the top of each bookmarks in the center. If desired, add an eyelet to each. (I have lots of these because at one time I had to have every shape, color and size available. )
5.  Thread twine through each hole (eyelet), and create a loop to attach.

Let your creativity flow and use up some of those “randomly acquired items” like Base and Bling charms, scraps of ribbon, or bits of string.

Signature

product imageStorybook Alphabet  Stamp Set

product image12″ x 12″ Kraft Cardstock

product imagePrickly Pear Paper Packet

product imageBlack Exclusive Inks Stamp Pad

product imageWatercolor Pencils

product image
Tombow Permanent Adhesive

product imageWhimsy Ribbon Pack

product imageRustic Home Ribbon Pack

product imageAdventure Ribbon Pack

product image
Non-Stick Micro-Tip Scissors

 

product image2″ x 2″ My Acrylic Block

product imageSureCut Deluxe Craft Paper Trimmer

product image
Base & Bling

 

 

One thought on “Storybook Alphabet Bookmarks

  1. Saw your card on SCS so stopped by to see your blog. Love this bookmark idea – I have been debating getting those alphabet stamps to use in Bible Journaling – love how you used them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

