Happy Hexagon Flower Card

I often get asked, “How do you come up with ideas for cards?” Honestly, I truly believe that I am not a creative person.  I love to look online at beautifully created home decor and find that it is a good day when I have the dog toys and dirty socks off the floor and all the dirty dishes somewhere near the sink.  So how do the cards I create come into being?

This week, I wanted to create a card using the Happy Hexagons acrylic stamp set for the Color My Heart Dare challenge. This is usually my starting point.  Most of the time I have chosen a stamp set that I bought and want to used to prove that the money I spent was worth it.  (I hate storing things on a shelf to collect dust.)

HappyHexagonCard.jpg

Next step, choose the colors.  This time it was easy – Sorbet, Lemon, Juniper, White Daisy, and Black with optional Gold.  Each week, Color My Heart Dare posts a weekly challenge and I encourage you to join.  I LOVE the fact that Close to My Heart has color families and coordinating color pallets.  Just look through one of our Idea Books for inspiration in color combination.

ColorCombos.png

I like to use the 60-30-10 rule with my color palette.  The idea is that 60% of your color is your anchor color, 30% is your secondary color, and 10% is your accent color.  For this card, my anchor color is Lemon and the secondary colors are Sorbet and Juniper. The secondary color should support your main color. I chose two colors that are next to yellow, Analogous, on the color wheel. (I highly recommend getting yourself a color wheel). My accent color is Gold. The accent color is like the throw pillows in your bedroom – you don’t need a a bunch because a little goes a long way.

ColorWheel.png

Now, start putting it all together.  Let go of the perfectionism, quit comparing yourself to others, and just GO FOR IT!  I can’t wait to see what you create.

Signature

Did you know that Close to My Heart brought back some exclusive stamp sets like Happy Hexagons during our July Buy Two Get One FREE Stampaganza event?
Imagine the savings! 

product image
Happy Hexagons Stamp Set

product imagePrickly Pear Paper Packet

product image
12″ x 12″ Black Cardstock

product image
12″ x 12″ White Daisy Cardstock

product image
12″ x 12″ Gold Glitter Paper

Z3169
Artbooking Cricut Cartridge

product image
Juniper Exclusive Inks Stamp Pad

product image
Lemon Exclusive Inks Stamp Pad

product image
Sorbet Exclusive Inks Stamp Pad

product image
Round Sponge

product image
Gold Glitter Gems

product image
Thin 3D Foam Tape

product image
2″ x 2″ My Acrylic Block

product image
3D Foam Tape

product image
Card & Envelope Value Pack

 

product image
Tombow Permanent Adhesive

product imageSureCut Deluxe Craft Paper Trimmer

product image
Non-Stick Micro-Tip Scissors

5 thoughts on “Happy Hexagon Flower Card

  1. At first I thought it was a stamp for the yellow hexagons but looked so much like Prickly Pear design sheet until I realized you used the stampset for the sentiment…love hexagons as well and I just might have to pull them out of my stash…it’s been awhile. Your card is so bright and cheery. The color wheel is a great idea and the percentages because many times I have several cuts of the different design papers or colors and then move them around…this might save me some cuts. Thanks for sharing again with us at Color My Heart.

    Like

  2. Fabulous card, Carrie! I love your hexagonal flower and your mini lesson on color design. Thanks so much for taking the Color Dare challenge with us again. Your work is always inspiring!
    🙂 Marie

    Like

  3. I think every now and then all of us need a reminder about colour proportions in our artwork. This card is really well done and puts an older stamp set to great use! Thanks for joining us again at Colour Dare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

